Interview with”Queens the evolution of Black Women,” author Collis D.Murrow.

I’m proud to sit with and interview Mr. Collis D. Morrow, the author of “Queens, the Evolution of Black Women.”  For Collis and I this interview was a first time experience and we had fun in the process.

I went right into my first question:

KC:  Why did you write “Queens”?

CDM:  I wrote “Queens” because of the state of African-American women in America.  I watch television and I see the images of our African-American women depicted negatively in the media. I wanted to talk about my observations, and bring forth a positive imagine of the Black American woman.

KC: What type of research you did  for this book?

CDM: I researched history and the biographies of these exceptional African-American women mention in “Queens.”  Who, I believe are Queens.

KC:  How do you think, these biographies will help African-American women?  I see names like Sarah Walker, Maya Angelou and Oprah Winfrey to name a few.

CDM:  These women are the prototype of what a woman can be and should be. These need to be emulated by all African-America women.  Their biographies bring forth stories of success, triumph determination and courage.

KC: Do you think your book would be accepted or rejected by women?

CDM:  I believe “Queens” should be received as a self-help book.  In order to help yourself you must become aware of the woman you are. “Queens” provides constructive criticism to women.

KC:  I read “Queens” and found a passage which made me smile and I thought men finally got it.  Men don’t look for intellect any longer they just go for the physical attributes in women.  Morrow says, “There is nothing like an intellectual woman; I think a brain is so sexy.  A woman who has wisdom is the greatest gift from the Most High.”  Why do you find a brain sexy?

CDM:   A brain is sexy because is always an asset.  At the end of the day when beauty leaves the body, intellect is there to stay.

KC:  I see you are a very family oriented person.  I read the acknowledgements in your book and you gave them all to the women in your family. Why?

CDM:  Well, I am asked at times; what motivated me to write a book about African-American women? Or what makes me an expert in black women, been a black man?  My answer is simple women of color race me, love and nurtured me. As a man I have also loved them.

KC:  What is the best part of becoming an author?

CDM:  It gives me  to continue conveying my thoughts to the world. We all have something to say, once you write about it people will listen to what is you have to say.

KC:  How is a working day for you?

CDM: I don’t set a time, nor place to write. I write out of inspiration, a sentence here and a quote there.  I have no method of writing.

KC: Is no method to his madness.  (We both laughed.)  What was the hardest part of writing “Queens”?

CDM:  The hardest part was preparing for interviews like this one.  No, the hardest part was preparing my-self for the positive and negative criticism.

KC:  Who is “Daddy’s little girl”? You wrote; “She is supposed to see how her father respects, loves and nurtures her mother and demand the same from her spouse.”

CDM:  Little girls who grow up with a father figure usually try to find a companion, who can measure up to dad.  In retrospective if the same little girl grows up without that father figure grows up with a void when trying to define what a man is consider to be.  Instead of having a blue print as what a father should be, that little girl starts a quest without a map nor foundation to compare or build a healthy relationship.

KC:  As a Muslim man, how do you view the Muslimah and her hijab?

CDM:  Hijab or the burqa, they don’t take away from the Muslimah. It gives her an opportunity to show their intelligence with no need to uncover herself.

KC:  Any new projects on the making?

CDM:  Yes, I am presently working on two manuscripts. The tittle is “White Chocolate.”

KC:  What is it about?

CDM:  Is about Caucasian Americans who helped African-Americans throughout the Civil Rights movement, reconstruction era and slavery.   The next manuscript is entitled “Words falling in deaf ears.”  This work is an anthology of essays, one chapter is refers to “The isms.”  Were I discussed  the capitalism, materialism, consumerism and the list goes on.

KC:  What question, if any, did you always wanted to be asked in an interview?

CDM:  When you end to exist, what will be your legacy?

KC:  What would be the answer?

CDM:  Here lies a man who uses his life as a conduit in order for the oppressed to be heard and to enlighten the uninformed as be the prototype for people in the struggle.

KC:  What will be the title of your biography?

CDM:  The first will be the last and the last shall be the first.

KC:  Words of advice for your readers or the amateur writer.

CDM:  Focus on your craft never and never allow one to tell you, you can’t.  Use tact, becoming aware of the type of audience you are to attract.  Convey your thoughts and always stay motivated.

KC:  Seldom can I say someone caught my attention for more than ten minutes.  Today I have met a young man who gave us a look in to the African-American woman.  Is a critical point, in his book “Queens” we can read the reality of our sisters been demoralized in videos, television shows and the media .  Our daughters are growing up thinking these are powers of examples that should be emulated.  “Queens addresses this issue by presenting women of color who made it through many obstacles at the end they became part of our history.

I urge women to read “Queens the Evolution of Black Woman.”  Is a remarkable book that gives women an insight on situations they need to face and work on to be successful. The biographies are just the blue print they need to succeed.

I have enjoyed my time with Collis; it was refreshing, honest and beautiful.

Published by

Boricua Muslimah

Graduate from Rutgers Newark. Journalist, photographer and videographer.

Leave a Reply

